Black River

Black River is a district of Mauritius on the western side of the island. This region receives less rainfall than the others. The district has an area of 259 square kilometres (100 sq mi) and the population estimate was 79,247 as of 31 December 2012. It is the third largest District of Mauritius in area, but the smallest in terms of population. The district is mostly rural, it also includes the western part of the city of Port Louis and western part of Quatre Bornes.

Local YUVAs.

Black River District includes different regions; however, some regions are further divided into different suburbs. YUVA Black River has implemented local YUVAs in the following areas of the district:

  1. Albion
  2. Bambous
  3. Cascavelle (Eastern part in Plaines Wilhems District)
  4. Case Noyale
  5. Chamarel (Eastern part in Savanne District)
  6. Flic-en-Flac
  7. Grande-Rivière-Noire
  8. Gros-Cailloux
  9. La Gaulette
  10. Le Morne
  11. Petite-Rivière
  12. Port Louis (West)
  13. Quatre Bornes (West)
  14. Richelieu
  15. Tamarin